Ty Majeski Officially Crowned the ARCA Midwest Tour Champion and Rookie of the Year at the 2014 Championship Banquet

by Kari Shear-Carlson
The ARCA Midwest Tour presented by Scag Power Equipment celebrated the 2014 racing season last night at the Wilderness Resort in Wisconsin Dells, WI. The night belonged to Ty Majeski who, for the first time in series history, was crowned both the Rookie of the Year as well as the series Champion.

New series owner, Gregg McKarns opened up the night acknowledging all of those who have supported the Tour over the years and expressed how much he looks forward to working with everyone involved with the ARCAMT in the future. McKarns introduced the emcee for the evening, Mark Hultgren, who was followed by Tim Olson, and the presentation of awards.

In addition to recognizing Ty Majeski and the rest of the top ten in 2014 series point standings, many special awards were given out for various achievements throughout the season, as well as numerous door prizes from series sponsors.

  • Scag Giant Vac and Five Star Fast Time Award-Ty Majeski
  • VDL Fuel Systems Hard Charger Award-James Swan
  • Appleton Rack & Pinions Most Laps Led Award-Nathan Haseleu
  • Miller Welders Crew Chief of the Year Award-Toby Nuttleman
  • Racing Electronics Spotters Award-Clintt Bogan
  • Quarter Master Car Owner of the Year Award-Jay VanDerGeest
  • Five Star Bodies Dedication Award-Nathan Haseleu
  • Fel-Pro Performance Gaskets Seal the Deal Award-Jonathan Eilen
  • Pathfinder Chassis Award-Nick Barstad
  • Crane Cams Engine Builder of the Year Award-B&B Racing Engines
  • Official of the Year Award-Mike “Lumpy” Lemke

The drawing for a Freedom Z Lawnmower from Scag Power Equipment was won by Jason Weinkauf. All of those drivers who competed in all of the 2014 events were eligible for the drawing.

Door prizes included certificates and prizes from: JRI Shocks, Bassett Wheels, COMP Cams, Quarter Master, Miller Welders, PF Brakes, Wegner, and Five Star Bodies.

The Larry Detjen’s Sportsmanship award has always been one of the most prestigious awards that the series gives out. This award is voted on by fellow drivers on the sportsmanship of their competitors. The 2014 award was given to Cardell Potter. Potter is an avid and successful snowmobile racer when he is not racing on the asphalt. He was racing, and winning, in Alexandria, MN last night so was unable to attend the banquet. His grandparents were proud to represent him.

It was an emotional night for series founder and former president, Tim Olson, as he thanked and acknowledged everyone who has been a part of the ARCA Midwest Tour since its inception. Tim was presented with a very special Tech Award by Mike “Lumpy” Lemke in thanks for all he has done for the series and the sport.

The night closed out with the official crowning of the 2014 Rookie of the Year and 2014 ARCA Midwest Tour Champion, Ty Majeski. Ty thanked everyone for their support, including his crew, sponsors, and family, as well as acknowledging many of the drivers on their fierce competition. He ended his night on the stage by surprising his dad, Brad with a special Happy 50th Birthday wish.

Ty Majeski earned the most cash and prizes one driver has ever walked away with in one season, having captured both the Rookie of the Year and Championship titles.


$6000 cash

1 set of AP rotors from AP brakes

1 full set of 8 Ferodo brake pads from Ferodo

$1000 champion certificate from Crane

1 set of wheels from Bassett Wheels


1 Champion A package from Five Star Bodies

1 full set of 8 Ferodo brake pads from Ferodo

McGunegill Engine Performance Engine Lease

Roltek Transmission from Roltek

The ARCA Midwest Tour would like to thank everyone for their support in the 2014 season and look forward to a new start in 2015. See you all at the Joe Shear Classic at Madison International Speedway on May 3rd, 2015.

Be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (midwesttour) and Twitter (@midwesttour).

To learn more about the Automobile Racing Club of America Midwest Tour, log on to The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedways.