B&B Lawn Care Presents the Chicagoland Driver Championship for Three ARCAMT Events

ARCA Midwest Tour Drivers Eligible For Additional Bonus at Chicagoland Area Tracks

by Kari Shear-Carlson
April 14, 2015-The ARCA Midwest Tour presented by Scag Power Equipment is proud to be a part of the Chicagoland Driver Championship presented by B&B Lawn Care. The CDC program was an idea originally based on a Chicago series back in 1958 and again implemented in the 1970’s.

A separate points system and point fund, funded by B&B Lawn Care, will be kept within the ARCA Midwest Tour events at three Chicagoland area tracks; Illiana Motor Speedway on May 25th, Rockford Speedway on June 27th, and Grundy County Speedway on July 17th.

When the ARCA Midwest Tour Stars and Cars visit each of these tracks, they will have an additional incentive. At the end of the 2015 season during the ARCA Midwest Tour banquet, the top three drivers in CDC points will receive $1000, $500, and $250 respectively, along with a trophy going to the CDC Champion, all presented by B&B Lawn Care.

B&B Lawn Care will also provide a Chicagoland Driver Bonus. All Illiana, Rockford, and Grundy drivers will be eligible for bonus points at all three tracks. The top finishing driver from CDC tracks will receive $100 cash and over $500 in contingency awards following each event.

The original idea was based on a 1958 Chicago Stock Car Series held at Soldier Field and Raceway Park, two Chicagoland area tracks. The series implemented a championship between the two tracks, won by Bill Lutz of Louisville, KY.

The first official CDC champion was Bob Roper. Roper won 13 feature races between Grundy County Speedway, Illiana Motor Speedway and Waukegan Speedway in 1974. He beat out drivers like Dave Evans, Tom Jones, Bobby Wawak, and Tom Musgrave. His 13 victories were the most by any driver on the CDC circuit. The championship points system was based on the overall finishes at each of the three local tracks and points were awarded to the top six finishers in each of the feature races. In 1975, Ray Young defeated Jones, Larry Schuler, Carl Major, and Musgrave for the CDC title winning 10 main events during the season.

Promoters, Wayne Carter of Grundy, Harry Molenaar of Illiana, and Gordon Sill of Waukegan represented each speedway, while the championship was organized and administered by Stan Kalwasinski and the late John McKarns.

All of the Stars and Cars of the ARCA Midwest Tour are looking forward to returning to the Chicagoland area throughout the season.

The ARCAMT will make its 2015 debut on Sunday, May 3rd at Madison International Speedway for the Joe Shear Classic. For complete event details and to buy tickets, be sure to go to arcamidwesttour.com/schedule

Be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (/midwesttour) and Twitter (@midwesttour).

To learn more about the Automobile Racing Club of America Midwest Tour, log on to arcamidwesttour.com. The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedways.