Degree of Talent Heats Up for This Year’s Wayne Carter Classic

ARCA Midwest Tour Returns to Grundy County Speedway This Friday

by Kari Shear-Carlson
July 14, 2015 - Along with the Stars and Cars of the ARCA Midwest Tour presented by Scag Power Equipment, the field for the Wayne Carter Classic 100 this Friday, July 17th, will be filled with some of the hottest competition in the Chicagoland area.

Last year’s winner, Touring Star, Chris Weinkauf, is ready to face the challenge and is excited to get back to the track where he scored his first victory.

“I’m really looking forward to going back to Grundy. We finally got the monkey off our backs when we won there last year. With this year’s list of drivers, it’s definitely going to be a tough fight for the win,” said Weinkauf.

Fellow Touring Star Jonathan Eilen, along with local legend, Eddie Hoffman also join Weinkauf on the ARCA Midwest Tour winner’s list at the Speedway and have always been two of the top contenders in the event.

But past winners will have their work cut out for them with the degree of talent in this year’s line-up. When it comes to the Wayne Carter Classic, it is anyone’s game. Brett Sontag, Austin Nason, DJ Weltmeyer, Larry Schuler, Ricky Baker, Andrew Morrissey, Rich Bickle, and Ty Majeski are just a few of the top names that will be after their first Wayne Carter Classic trophy.

Gates open at 5:30pm and all of the action begins with qualifying at 6:30pm and racing to follow at 7:30pm.

The ARCA Midwest Tour will be joined by the Mid-American Stock Car Series as well as the Pure Stocks.

For complete event details, log on to arcamidwesttour.com

Be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (/midwesttour) and Twitter (@midwesttour).

To learn more about the Automobile Racing Club of America Midwest Tour, log on to arcamidwesttour.com. The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedway.

Expected Entries
Kar Korner All-Star 100
ARCA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment
Saturday Night June 27, 2015
Rockford Speedway, Loves Park, IL

28 as of 7/14/15

Car # Name Hometown State
3 David Einhaus Seneca IL
5 Brett Sontag Joliet IL
7 James Gregait Batavia IL
8 Eddie Hoffman Wheaton IL
11 Andy Jones Gurnee IL
14 Austin Nason Roscoe IL
16 DJ Weltmeyer Dyer IN
23 Brandon Clubb Coal City IL
24 Jim Olson Harvard IL
28 David Finney Sycamore IL
30 Larry Schuler Minooka IL
30 Mark Hartline Gilberts IL
31 Chris Cooling Kenosha WI
39 Andrew Morrissey DeForest WI
43 Matt Kocourek Franklin WI
45 Rich Bickle Edgerton WI
51 Anthony Danta Downers Grove IL
52 Ricky Baker Plainfield IL
53 Boris Jurkovic Joliet IL
55 Scott Koerner Joliet IL
58 Cardell Potter Camp Douglas WI
75 Chris Weinkauf Merrill WI
76 Jason Weinkauf Merrill WI
77 Jonathan Eilen Hampton MN
78 Skylar Holzhausen Bangor WI
91 Ty Majeski Seymour WI
96 John Nutley Midlothian IL
97 James Swan Lake Geneva WI