20150503 210 copy

Olson, Kemkes, Vandermolen and Effertz Wrap Up Dixieland 250 Driver Highlights

by Kari Shear-Carlson / Aug 3, 2015 - Harvard, IL native, Jim Olson, has been racing super late models for over 10 years. Olson raced trucks at Lake Geneva Raceway back in 2000. The truck he raced ended up winning the track’s truck championship that year. Olson then moved into super late models and has been racing them ever since. Most recently, he finished fifth at Rockford Speedway in the 2014 National Short Track Championship event. 

Cory Kemkes was the 2014 Limited Late Model Champion at Wisconsin International Raceway as well as the Red, White, and Blue Limited Late Model Champion, winning the final event in the three-race series. Kemkes moved up to the Super Late Model division in 2015. 

Pete Vandermolen is a 34-year racing veteran who calls him home Wisconsin International Raceway and is a mainstay on Thursday nights. Vandermolen has raced in Dixieland events of the past. If there is racing at WIR, Pete Vandermolen is a name you will be sure to see.

Sawyer Effertz has become a top contender at Wisconsin International Raceway since he started racing a Limited Late Model in 2010. He won two features and had six top-tens that year. In 2012, Effertz took the points lead on the very first night and held it all the way to the Limited Late Model Championship. Effertz moved up to a super late model in 2014. He accumulated two fast dash and six heat wins. 

The ARCA Midwest Tour will also be joined by the Big 8 Series on Tuesday night, August 4th. The grandstands will open at 4:00pm. Qualifying will begin at 5:00pm, opening ceremonies will be at 6:15 and racing at 7:00pm. See you there!

For complete event details, log on to arcamidwesttour.com

Be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (/midwesttour) and Twitter (@midwesttour).

To learn more about the Automobile Racing Club of America Midwest Tour, log on to arcamidwesttour.com. The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedway.