Competition Heats Up for the ‘Thunderstruck 93’ this Saturday Night

by Kari Shear-Carlson / Sept 19, 2016 - The ARCA Midwest Tour presented by Scag Power Equipment season is winding down but it isn’t over yet. Two races remain on the 2016 schedule, the first coming this Saturday night at Elko Speedway for the ‘Thunderstruck 93’ 125 lap feature.

Elko has some of the strongest local competition in the Midwest and this Saturday will be no different. A perfect mix of Midwest Tour Stars and Cars and local heroes is expected and guaranteed to create a great show the fans will not soon forget.

Elko has had a competitive season in its own right in 2016 and much of the competition will be joining the field this Saturday night. Jacob Goede just wrapped up his third consecutive Elko Speedway championship and fought Ty Majeski to the finish in last year’s event. Two-time ARCA Midwest Tour Champion Majeski, won that battle and also returns after a win in the second feature last Saturday night at the track.

Dan Fredrickson is a multi-time Thunderstruck winner along with being a two-time Midwest Tour Champion. Fredrickson, Goede, and Majeski put on a memorable show in 2015 and fans can look forward to the three of them all contending for a win yet again.

Former Midwest Tour champion, ‘Thunderstruck 93’ event winner, and 2016 Elko Speedway feature winner, Jonathan Eilen, is hoping to take the top spot at his home track against his fellow Touring Stars and hometown competition.

Hometown drivers like, Rookie of the Year and Elko feature winner, Chris Marek, last week’s winner of the first Elko feature, Nick Panitzke, Matt Goede second in the championship point standings, as well as third place in the point standings and multi-time feature winner, Joey Miller, will all be part of the action. Legends champion, Derek Lemke will also join the field for the 125 lap event.

Touring Star, Austin Nason, is entering this Saturday night hot off setting fast time at the track last Saturday night, while Casey Johnson’s hot streak leads him in as a top contender. Johnson swept the WI State Championship last weekend at Jefferson Speedway.

Other Touring Stars coming into Saturday night with momentum on their side are Ricky Baker, winner of the Bettenhausen Memorial last weekend at Grundy County Speedway, where Paul Shafer finished fourth.

Derek Kraus has been on a hot streak of his own the entire 2016 season. Kraus became the youngest ARCA Midwest Tour event winner a few weeks ago at Dells Raceway Park and has been accumulating wins throughout Central Wisconsin, including the Detjens Memorial event at State Park Speedway.

Dennis Prunty has come onto the Midwest Tour scene with a vengeance. He is the 2016 Dixieland 250 winner, and gave Kraus a run for his money at DRP. Prunty is also the 2015 Slinger Nationals Champion and seems to be a top five contender everywhere he goes.

Former Midwest Touring Star and 2015 Dixieland 250 winner, Nick Murgic will be looking for a Midwest Tour win at his home track this weekend. Murgic has also captured a win already this season at Elko Speedway.

Speaking of Elko Speedway winners, Skylar Holzhausen won the biggest event of his career in 2011 at Elko Speedway, taking home a check for $10,000. Holzhausen is another driver who can never be counted out.

NASCAR Division II National Champion, Michael Ostdiek will also be one to watch this Saturday night.

Gates open at 3:00pm with an on-track autograph session from 3:10-3:50. Qualifying and heats start at 4:00pm. Opening ceremonies and feature racing begins at 6:00pm. For complete event details, log on to arcamidwesttour.com

Be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (/midwesttour) and Twitter (@midwesttour).

To learn more about the Automobile Racing Club of America Midwest Tour, log on to arcamidwesttour.com. The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedway.

Expected Entries
Thunderstruck 93′ 125
ARCA Midwest Tour
Saturday September 24, 2016
Elko Speedway, Elko, MN

34 as of 9/19/16

Car # Name Hometown State
3 Chris Marek Lakeville MN
6 Darrin Giles New Market MN
7 John DeAngelis, Jr Hubertus WI
7 Paul Shafer, Jr Portage IN
8 Billy Mohn Lakeville MN
9 Derek Kraus Stratford WI
12 Nick Murgic Rosemount MN
14 Austin Nason Roscoe IL
15 Joey Miller Lakeville MN
18 Michael Ostdiek Lakeville MN
22 Nick Panitzke Lakeville MN
27 Paul Paine Mound MN
28 Matt Goede New Germany MN
31 Nick Barstad Prior Lake MN
33 Rick Burns Veseli MN
35 Travis Dassow West Bend WI
36 Dan Fredrickson Lakeville MN
38 Jeff Holtz Franksville WI
39 Andrew Morrissey DeForest WI
42 Dennis Prunty Knowles WI
43 Matt Kocourek Franklin WI
44 Justin Mondeik Gleason WI
47 Casey Johnson Edgerton WI
52 Ricky Baker Plainfield IL
62 John Heath Lakeville MN
71 Derek Lemke Shakopee MN
72 Jacob Goede Carver MN
75 Chris Weinkauf Merrill WI
75 Joel Theisen Maple Grove MN
76 Jason Weinkauf Merrill WI
77 Jonathan Eilen Hampton MN
78 Skylar Holzhausen Bangor WI
90 Duke Long West Bend WI
91 Ty Majeski Seymour WI