20160206 224 copy

ARCA Midwest Tour Champions Banquet Put a Cap on the 2015 Season

by Kari Shear-Carlson / February 9, 2016 - The ARCA Midwest Tour presented by Scag Power Equipment held it’s 2015 Champions Banquet this past Saturday night, February 6th at the Grand Marquis Ballroom in Fitchburg, WI. In addition to the crowning of a Champion, the night was filled with the recognition of many achievements throughout the 2015 season.

Ty Majeski was celebrated as the 2015 ARCA Midwest Tour Champion. Majeski joined Steve Carlson as the only other driver to win back-to-back championships in the nine year history of the series. Majeski’s season was one for the record books with five wins and five fast times in only 10 events.

Austin Nason received his honor as the 2015 ARCA Midwest Tour Rookie of the Year. Nason battled Ricky Baker all season for the top spot in the rookie point standings. The two finished fourth and fifth in the overall series standings. Nason will be returning to the Tour in 2016 with his sights set on a championship.

Other drivers in attendance not yet mentioned, included Matt Kocourek, Jonathan Eilen, Andrew Morrissey, Jason Weinkauf, James Swan, Chris Weinkauf, and Skylar Holzhausen. Drivers in attendance finishing in the top eleven of the 2015 point standings received recognition including a custom plaque and their share of the $30,000 point fund.

One of the most honorable and prestigious awards given in the Midwest Tour is the Larry Detjens Sportsmanship Award. Steve Holzhausen was the first driver to win the award, which dates back to 1987. The Larry Detjens Award is voted on by the drivers. The recipient of the award is seen by his or her peers as the driver who demonstrated the most sportsman-like conduct throughout the season. The 2015 recipient of the Larry Detjens Sportsmanship award was Skylar Holzhausen. Skylar joined his father as the only father-son duo to win the award.

Toby Nuttleman, crew chief for Ty Majeski, was named Crew Chief of the Year for the second consecutive year, while Brian Holtz, owner of the #97 car driven by James Swan, was awarded Car Owner of the Year.

Many other special awards were given out throughout the course of the night. Ray Weinkauf was presented with the Spotter of the Year Award. The Long Haul Award went to Ricky Baker, who traveled a total of 4,030 miles throughout the season. Matt Kocourek was the recipient of the Tough Luck Award, while Jonathan Eilen took home the Hard Charger of the Year Award for passing the most cars during the season. Chris Weinkauf was presented the Best Appearing Car Award, which was recognized by the fans as the best looking car during the 2015 season.

Skylar Holzhausen received the Tech Award given out by Mike ‘Lumpy’ Lemke for being on time for tech inspection and ready to race at each event. B&B Racing Engines was the Engine Builder of the Year providing the power behind the champion, Ty Majeski, for the entire 2015 season.

The B&B Lawn Care Chicagoland Driver Championship was new for 2015, but the idea dated back to 1958 when The Chicago Stock Car Series implemented a championship between Soldier Field and Raceway Park. John McKarns and Stan Kalwasinski created a circuit between Grundy, Illiana, and Waukegan Speedways in 1974. The 2015 B&B Lawn Care Chicagoland Driver Championship paid a separate point fund to the top three finishers of the Midwest Tour events at Illiana, Rockford, and Grundy. ARCA Midwest Touring Star, Andrew Morrissey, was this year’s Champion. Two-time Grundy County Champion turned Touring Star, Ricky Baker, finished third behind Eddie Hoffman in second. Morrissey received $1,000 and a custom plaque as this year’s B&B Lawn Care CDC.

Special recognition was given to the top three in the ARCA Midwest Tour point standings. Chris Weinkauf finished third in the series behind runner up Skylar Holzhausen. The 2015 ARCA Midwest Tour Champion, Ty Majeski, capped off the night, giving special recognition to all of those who have supported him throughout his entire career.

The ARCA Midwest Tour would like to thank all of the sponsors who supported the Tour in 2015 and look forward to their continued support in 2016; Al-Kul Radiators, Comp Cams, Ford Racing, Kar Korner, Miller Welders, RockAuto.com, Wehr’s Machine, AP Brakes, Calypso Lemonade, Fivestar Stock Car Bodies, Intercomp, Racing Electronics, Sunoco Race Fuels, ButlerBuilt, Ferodo, i-gogs Sunglasses, Menards, Performance Friction, Tiry’s Racing Engines, Bassett Wheel, Fel-Pro, Hoosier Racing Tire, McGunegill Engine Performance, Quartermaster and VDL Carburetors, B&B Lawn Care, Eibach Springs, Gandrud Chevrolet, Liz Girl Logistics, Powersource Racing Engines, B&B Racing Engines, Colony Brands, Crane Ignitions, Forest County Potawatomi, Lane Automotive, Pathfinder Chassis, Roltek Transmissions, and our presenting sponsor SCAG Power Equipment.

The 2016 points season kicks off on Sunday afternoon, May 1st, at Madison International Speedway for the Joe Shear Classic. A non-points event takes place on April 16th in Toledo, OH.

Be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (/midwesttour) and Twitter (@midwesttour).

To learn more about the Automobile Racing Club of America Midwest Tour, log on to arcamidwesttour.com. The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedway.